Sigma Tau Delta


Sigma Tau Delta (ΣΤΔ) is the premiere international English honors society.  The organization celebrates student achievement in academics and literary outreach through educational social events and community engagement in all areas of English studies, including:

  • literature,
  • creative writing
  • technical writing
  • children's literature
  • English education
  • digital humanities, and
  • linguistics. 

The UNC Charlotte chapter of Sigma Tau Delta is Beta Sigma.  Our requirements for membership are that students be an English major or minor with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.  Any student who wishes to become a member should submit a membership enrollment form(WORD Document will download) to the English Department’s front desk and include the required dues.  

This year, a group from Sigma Tau Delta will be going to St. Louis for the Annual Conference!  Next year (2020), the conference will be in Las Vegas!

Professor Alan Rauch (
Faculty sponsor and advisor of UNC Charlotte’s Sigma Tau Delta, Beta Sigma Chapter

               President:  MaKalea Bjoin    

             Vice President: Kristina Riser Duemmler 

             Secretary: Lydia Hopkins 

             Treasurer: Kellyanna Atwell  

               Public Relations: Zach Margolis

Students at the annual Sigma Conference in Cincinnati (2017). Nicole Jones,
Kelly Brabec, Kristiner (Riser) Duemmler, MaKalea Bjoin, Sarahan Moser, and Danny Anderson. (L-R)

The ΣΤΔ T-Shirt.  Contact Alan Rauch, if you're interested!

Here's the new 1818-2018 FRANKENSTEIN-Sigma shirt!!